Home

RESTWhether you are employed, self-employed or an entrepreneur, you need to rest.

The Bible says:

It is useless for you to work so hard from early morning until late at night, anxiously working for food to eat; for God gives rest to his loved ones.  – Psalm 127:2 (NLT)

When I left the corporate world more than 10 years ago, I value this time of rest. It lets me recharge even think back or reflect on my present situation. That was then. Lately, now that I became a Unit Head at AXA Philippines, rest is a luxury because I have to contend not only with the seminars but I also have to recruit agents and also sell in an individual capacity. Not to mention, that as a cross-seller, I also have to take care of my other businesses, which by God’s grace and mercy, have been thriving of late. And for that, I am grateful to the Lord for His provisions.

Whatever your situation may be, you need to set a day for rest. Even God who does not really need to rest (because He is God and therefore does not get tired), sets an example when He rested on the 7th day after creating everything there is to create on earth:

You have six days each week for your ordinary work, but the seventh day is a Sabbath day of rest dedicated to the LORD your God.  – Exodus 20: 9-10a

So whatever your work is, regardless of the industry you belong to, every company allots at least one day for rest. This addresses the concerns of others that they have work even on Sundays. That’s not the point. You are given at least one day of the week to rest so grab it and let your mind and body get that much needed rest.

I know a few people who work like crazy and even when they don’t have work on weekends, they do not even know the word “rest” per se because they are always on the move. I keep reminding them that they too need to rest for our body was not meant to perform non-stop 24/7 or else, we should expect the consequences and that is getting stressed, fatigued and eventually get sick or worse get hospitalized which I have seen happen to a few close friends of mine.

Just like a computer or laptop, you can turn it on 24/7 for days or even weeks but do not expect its life span to last the normal expected life span. Chances are, it can also overheat no matter what and before long, it will conk out. What more if we do it to our own physical body. We are not supermen designed to be on our toes 24/7.

When I find myself not getting any rest on a particular week, I do not only get grumpy. I easily get irritated. My patience is very thin and wear out easily and worse, I get sick by getting colds first then sore throat and eventually pharyngitis. It’s just a pattern that I have memorized happen to me when I deprive my body of its much needed rest. And also, it’s hard to be spiritual when you’re tired.

We were created and designed to even rest for that is how God created us – to rest and dedicate that day to Him. Lest everyone forgets.

Leave a Reply

