Home

1. Pray in secret.

But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you. – Matthew 6:6

2. Pray earnestly.  

Elijah was a man just like us. He prayed earnestly that it would not rain, and it did not rain on the land for three and a half years. – James 5:17

3. Pray aloud. 

Declare your prayer to God.

To the LORD I cry aloud, and he answers me from his holy hill. Selah – Psalm 3:4

4. Pray without ceasing.

Never stop praying. – 1 Thessalonians 5:17

5. Pray for wisdom and an understanding heart.

Give me an understanding heart so that I can govern your people well and know the difference between right and wrong. For who by himself is able to govern this great people of yours?” – 1 Kings 3:9

6. Pray His Word. 

Praying the Scriptures is a powerful way to pray because you are claiming God’s word in your life. Not only does He hear our prayers, but He also promises to answer them when we pray in line with His will which is found in the Bible.

All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, – 2 Timothy 3:16

And this is the confidence that we have toward him, that if we ask anything according to his will he hears us. – 1 John 5:14

7. Pray for forgiveness.

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. – 1 John 1:9

For God does not hear prayer when you are in sin.

We know that God does not listen to sinners. He listens to the godly man who does his will. – John 9:31

8. Pray to accept the Lord Jesus Christ as your Personal Lord and Savior.

The Campus Crusade for Christ is well-known for its little tract. I’m sharing here a part of the tract on how to pray and accept the Lord Jesus Christ into your life:

You can receive Christ right now by faith through prayer.

Prayer is talking to God. God knows your heart and is not so concerned with your words as He is with the attitude of your heart.

“Lord Jesus, I need You. Thank You for dying on the cross for my sins. I open the door of my life and receive You as my Savior and Lord. Thank You for forgiving my sins and giving me eternal life. Take control of the throne of my life. Make me the kind of person You want me to be.”

Leave a Reply

