Home

For the longest time, I never knew what grace was.

When I accepted Jesus Christ in my life as my personal Lord and Savior many years ago,  I was never conscious of it. I guess I never felt it either. Of course, it had something to do with my own undoing also but that’s another story. All I know about Christianity back then was  it’s about faith and that it’s not about good works but a personal relationship with God, faith, love, Holy Spirit, God’s will, etc . Sure, I came across grace many times not only in my reading of the Word but  it was also mentioned many times in Sunday worship services and bible studies but it never struck me.

But recently when I decided to turn back from my old ways and re-dedicate my life again to the Lord, I felt the grace of God manifesting in my life. It was like now I am beginning to understand this thing called grace. So, what is this thing called grace?  

The Bible says that grace is a gift from God. You don’t have to earn it.

Simply put, God is Sovereign and His will is for you to receive  this gift of eternal life from Him. Am I right in saying you did not even ask for it?

Every new Christian is familiar with this Bible verse that puts emphasis on grace, “For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith–and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God” – Ephesians 2:8

Grace, therefore, is something you don’t even deserve but nonetheless, it’s freely given to you.

Ok, lest I confuse you with its meaning. Let me share my experience about God’s grace in my life.

When I put my faith in God, I feel that I’m growing in God’s grace. It’s like before when temptation is confronting me, I easily give in. But because of the grace of God, I find myself resisting it. It’s not because of my own will but I believe it’s the grace of God that compels me to shun evil in my life. Now I am not saying that there is a halo surrounding my head. I am still a sinner but because of God’s grace, God gives me the leeway to resist temptation. For God will not give us something beyond what we can bear. This much I know.

Does it mean I don’t sin and will not sin anymore? May God deal with me be it ever so severely if I proclaim that I no longer sin. But because of the grace of God, my focus is on the renewing of my mind so that I can live out a life that is pleasing to Him. For the Bible gives us this commandment:

Romans 12:2
Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–his good, pleasing and perfect will.

So how do you renew your mind? By faith.  Romans 10: 17 – Consequently, faith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word of Christ.

And when your thoughts are aligned with God’s will, your actions will follow, yes, according to God’s will. You will delight in the Lord and He will delight in you as well. This is God’s grace working in my life.

When that happens, you will feel God’s grace in all areas of your life.

2 thoughts on “This thing called Grace

  1. Amen. Yes when we Let God and Trust God whole Hearted and Obey his will and word. One will deff feel his amazing Grace! for II bear witness to just this! I am forever thankful that Jesus saw me fit.To God Be all The Glory!

Leave a Reply

