Home

I am first and foremost a real estate broker.  Next, I also sell insurance and mutual funds. That has been my tagline in all of my social media accounts like Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, etc.

Normally, whenever the term non-life insurance is brought up, most people associate it fire insurance or auto insurance.

I have been in the non-life insurance business since 2002 selling fire insurance and auto insurance. That’s right, before, I was more on the lookout for prospective clients for home and auto insurance business. At that time, I’ve never heard of travel insurance yet.

About 5 years ago, I included travel insurance to expand my non-life insurance portfolio. Since then, I would say that I have found my niche in the travel insurance business. Among the insurance products that I carry, travel insurance has been the consistent bestseller.

Chartis Philippines, which I represent when selling travel insurance, decided to go online in the travel insurance business, about a year ago.

Because of my access to the Chartis’ online system as an authorized Chartis agent in issuing travel policies, my market reach went as far as Europe. This especially applies to applicants looking for “schengen travel insurance”. I had inquiries before from Holland, Belgium, Switzerland, to name a few from Filipinos or foreigners based in those countries. They are usually the sponsors inquiring in behalf of the travel applicant who lives in the Philippines.

I’m not sure if there are other insurance providers who provide the same online travel insurance system that we have in Chartis Philippines. The good thing about this is that I don’t have to meet up with my client. It’s very convenient on both sides. All my clients have to do is email or text me their travel dates, destination, fill up the application form I sent them and email it back to me together with a copy of their current passport. And presto!

That’s it. As soon as I have verified that the requirements are complete, I can issue the travel policy online and within minutes, the travel policy will be sent by Chartis to the applicant’s email address. Then, my client will just pay the premium at the accredited banks, BPI or BDO, within 1 to 2 banking days. In some cases, my Manila-based clients prefer to meet up with me in Makati (to which I obliged) so I could personally hand deliver to them their travel policy while I accept their payment and remit it to the Chartis office in their behalf.

By the way, as of this writing, in a couple of weeks, a new payment gateway system shall be established and the mode of payment for this transaction will only be via credit card payment. More details later.

Thank God for giving me this market niche.

Leave a Reply

