Home

“The mass of men lead lives of quiet desperation. What is called resignation is confirmed desperation….” – Henry David Thoreau.

According to Henry David Thoreau,  most men are slaves to their work and enslaved to those for whom they work.

The first time I read this statement, I realized I was no different from the rest. Deep inside, I know that I belong in this so-called rat race by working as an employee.

But this “entrepreneurial” spirit within me was restless. Somehow, I knew from the very beginning that  I would not retire as an employee. It took me a little over 10 years to quit the corporate life. Maybe it was necessary for me to gain experience and establish business connections.

I did not immediately take the  Self-Employed route after real estate. I took a career shift to IT.  But it lasted only one year and I thought my career move was a failed experiment. So, I thought my fallback was in sales. Back then, I thought, I had enough of real estate. With this mindset, this prompted me to try life insurance selling. I thought my life insurance business would be sustained but my “natural market” dried up and on the 6th year, I could barely meet the required production. Again, I had to make a crucial choice of quitting the life insurance business because not only do I hate quotas but it was obvious I can’t meet it because I also had to attend to my other businesses.

Fortunately, I trained under an agency whose thrust was cross-selling. Though our primary business was life insurance. We were trained to sell also non-life insurance products and mutual funds.

It took me a little over 10 years to leave the corporate world.

And it took me another 10 years to focus on my “core” businesses – Real Estate, Insurance and Mutual Funds.

Even if I left a very stable and high-paying job, by God’s grace, I would say there’s no looking back since then.

I have no regrets I left the corporate world. Why, after more than 10 years and through it all, I’m still standing!

Business may not always be good but I would say this from experience: Time and again, God provides.

This is about my personal advocacy and reflections as a Cross-Seller.

Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” – Hebrews 13:5

Leave a Reply

